Happy Birthday! :) xx

 

This isn’t a rant, it’s just something I find hilarious.

It was my birthday on Saturday.

My 19th – which is a rubbish birthday by the way.

16 = sex and lottery tickets legally,

17 = driving,

18 = drinking, voting, adulthood,

19 = oh, you’re nearly not a teenager anymore.

ANYWAY, so yeah, it was my birthday. This blog post is just a comment on the Facebook birthday wishes. I had a lot this year, although not as many as last year, perhaps due to my cleaning up of my “friends” list in August.

The thing is, about 80% of these people probably wouldn’t know if it was my birthday or not, if it wasn’t for Facebook. Clearly, if that is the case, we aren’t amazing friends, so whilst the birthday wishes are somewhat appreciated, to a certain extent they are entirely meaningless.

What is even funnier is the pressure of it. One of my best friends, whom I’ve known for 7 years, wished me a happy birthday by text message, Facebook, and Twitter. The text I received in the morning was this:

“HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MARIAAAA, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUUU! Now enjoy my messages on Facebook and twitter which I have to send cos otherwise I’ll look like a bad friend :’D :’D Have a good day! xx”

Hmm…

‘I have to send cos otherwise I’ll look like a bad friend’ – babe everyone knows you’re one of my best friends! No pressure! Bless her…

However, all these insincere or repeated birthday wishes through social media did make me look and feel quite popular so y’know I guess I can’t really complain!

Leave a Reply

